1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Chickens eating moldy food?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by KOchickens, Feb 26, 2017.

1. KOchickens

KOchickens New Egg

Feb 25, 2017
    Fresno, CA
    Noob here. We very recently got 4 chickens. My plan, in addition to being family pets, is to use them in conjunction with organic gardening. Mainly pest and weed control, fertilizer and eggs are definitely a bonus! I'm looking forward to them turning and pooping in my compost. However, I've read in a few places not to feed chickens moldy food. If they get in my compost pile, they will have access to moldy, rotting produce and yard waste. Can this pose a problem? I know that lots of people do this, but I'm curious about the potential issues. Thanks[​IMG]

2. TheTwoRoos

TheTwoRoos Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 25, 2015
    Chickens shouldnt have moldy or bug infetsed foods.Down the road,it will cause health problems.

3. Beekissed

Beekissed True BYC Addict

It shouldn't cause a problem if your compost pile is well aerated. Chickens have been eating rotten and moldy chicken scraps since the beginning of time, no problems.

4. BantyChooks

BantyChooks Turtle Rock Poultry Premium Member

Aug 1, 2015
    I feed my flock mouldy stuff all the time, and they ain't dead yet.

5. rosemarythyme

rosemarythyme Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 3, 2016
    Pac NW
    I personally would not feed them moldy food, however rotting or decomposing plant matter doesn't seem to bother them at all. I would avoid anything that actually has outright mold on it, I just don't think mold is healthy for most animals.

6. Beekissed

Beekissed True BYC Addict