Chickens, Gardens and weeds

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by ultio, Apr 30, 2008.

1. ultio

ultio New Egg

Apr 27, 2008
    So I see in a video on this site that chickens control weeds. So my question is do they eat the plants in your gardens? I was hoping to let my chickens roam my garden and eat insects. I am a noob at this and want to get it right the first time.

2. hcammack

hcammack Overrun With Chickens

Oct 5, 2007
    Vermont
    they will eat the garden plants [​IMG]

3. Wolf-Kim

Wolf-Kim Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 25, 2008
    They will eat anything they take a liking too, garden plants included(especially veggies and fruits).

I've heard that guineas are better for roaming the garden and eating bugs. I don't know myself, I have never owned guineas. I heard they are very careful in the garden about knocking over plants.

Chickens in the garden aren't a good idea. Yes, they'll eat the bugs, but they'll also eat both weeds and flowers, as well as dig plants up and plow plants over to search for and catch bugs.

-Kim

4. silkiechicken

silkiechicken Staff PhD Premium Member

Yep, they will eat and scratch everything up. The first things to go will be the things you spent the most time and money on.

5. raindrop

raindrop Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 10, 2008
    Western Oregon
    I would imagine they would have fun and you would get fertilizer out of the deal if you let them into the garden in the off-season, especially if you keep your winter crops (if you have them) under row covers.
    They eat the garden. What they don't eat, they scratch up and kill. I don't think they could take on a full grown zucchini plant, but anything else would be yummy.

6. bruinmom

bruinmom New Egg

Jun 25, 2008