Chickens, goats, and bunnies - Oh My?

kukupecpec

Songster
10 Years
Aug 24, 2012
Tucson AZ
Hello there!

I am new to chickens, but I am fast on my way to having my very own backyard farm. DH wants a small ranch property where we can have a couple pigs and cows too but for now, we are starting with the small animals. We have 6 chickens, 5 different breeds, and would like to start a collection of Malaysian Seramas. My question to toss out there is - can I house chickens with goats and bunnies?
I have heard wonderful things about having a couple goats and think it might be a fin miniature way to start milking before we have the space for a couple cows. The idea is that the chickens would have their coop and enclosed run (the Seramas would be house separately and probably rarely come in contact with the larger animals), the goats would have a little covered sleeper stall/barn, the rabbits would run free in the yard (or course having an open coop like hutch for shade and weather protection) and then during the (temperature permitting) hours of the day, let them all have free run of the yard. Has anyone else housed these kinds of animals together? Or set them free range together?
The rabbits are Flemish Giants, if that makes any difference -

welcome-byc.gif
I think you need to think about a safe enclosed area for nights for bunnies and chickens. Good fencing to keep out dogs and other predators during day and night.

The chickens have a nice safe coop, but the bunnies are VERY large, they seem to do just fine in the yard. It IS fenced, and they have a hutch that they get closed in to at night when they can be bothered to get back inside it, but they usually just roam freely and only use the hutch to get away from the sun.

What I'm really wondering is if the bunnies can go in the coop/run at night? the coop is definitely safer. Locked up tight and a strong run with deeply buried anti-dig wire around the base, but the hutch for the bunnies could easily be opened.