Chickens going into the coop at night

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by lseipp, Aug 22, 2010.

1. lseipp

lseipp New Egg

Aug 22, 2010
    Hello, First I would like to say that this is my first post as I am very new to this. I have 6 chickens that I have raised since April. When I first moved them outside to their coop, they would wander in the yard all day (it is completely fenced in) and return to the coop in the evening. For the last few weeks, they all flock to the top of my deck stairs and would remain there all night if I don't move each one back to the coop . Any hints as to why this is happening or how I can encourage them to go back to the coop at night? Thanks for any advice.
    Linda

2. cpegram

cpegram Chillin' With My Peeps

Mine free range during the day and if I need them to go in earlier then they think.....or for some of the stubborn ones....I throw some BOSS (Black Oiled Sunflower) in their run which is attached to the coop .........they all come running they love it!!!!

3. cpegram

cpegram Chillin' With My Peeps

Oh and where are my manners [​IMG] WELCOME!!!! There are lots of great people on here with answers...my chicks were hatched in April too!!

4. Daringescape

Daringescape Out Of The Brooder

Apr 17, 2010
    West Covina, CA
    It's possible that something spooked them and they dont want to go back in the coop. I went out one night to close the door the my coop and the girls were on top of the coop sleeping. When I got close, an opossum came running out - for the next few nights, I had to put the girls in the coop by hand. Every once in a while, something like that will scare them and I have to put them in by hand.

5. lseipp

lseipp New Egg

Aug 22, 2010