Chickens in the coop all day long - why??

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by jldeuth, Sep 16, 2016.

1. jldeuth

jldeuth New Egg

Sep 16, 2016
    I am brand new to chickens - please help! We picked up two Gold Star hens, 10 months old, a week ago (last Friday). We are in a suburban area. Our yard is not fenced in, but we have a fenced in (with chicken wire) run area about 45 sq ft. The previous owner confirmed that they were laying before we picked them up. But we have not seen an egg yet. My biggest concern, however, is that they want to spend all day in the coop. They come out every so often to eat, and then go right back in the coop. They will also come out if we go out there. The first few days they were here, they were out in the grass all day. On Monday evening, the neighbor's dog got loose and was over here barking at the chickens from about 20 ft away for 10 minutes until the owners came to get him. They started staying in the coop around noon on Tuesday. Could it be because they are afraid? Any ideas on why else they could be doing this and how to get them to come out?

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    A new home will often do to hens just what you describe - a reluctance to leave the coop and a slow down or even halt to egg production. The egg production will come around on it's own. For the coop issue I guess you toss out some treats to entice them out. Or even lock them out of the coop so they become accustomed to life on the outside. Best of luck!

3. Adalida

Adalida Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 21, 2015
    Montana
    Just to clarify, you said the first few days they were out in the grass. Do you mean out in the fenced run, or were you letting them free range on the rest of your property?

4. Adalida

Adalida Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 21, 2015
    Montana