Chickens in the winter

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by trulyblessed, Jul 16, 2011.

1. trulyblessed

trulyblessed Out Of The Brooder

Jun 4, 2011
    So I live in Michigan. We are building our coop right now and insulating it. How do chickens do in the cold weather? Do they mostly stay in their coop all day or do they venture out in the snow. Sorry if this is a dumb question lol, I am brand new to this. Their run will have a roof so hopefully they will have some ground uncovered by snow. Are they ok in the freezing temps or is there ever a temp where it's unsafe for them in their coop? Just trying to think ahead. Thanks.

2. BairleaFarm

BairleaFarm Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2011
    Georgetown, KY
    Alot of them do fine in the cold. Look at the breed list and it will tell you how they do in what weather. I haven't had chickens in the winter but from what I can tell they go out in the snow. Frost bite on the feet are something you need to look out for. IIRC 2x4 perches are better than round perches for preventing this. Regardless of how you insulate be sure you've still got some ventilation. And most important be sure there water doesn't freeze.

3. Montana-Hens

Montana-Hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 20, 2008
    Buxton, Montana
    Properly chosen breeds (small or cushion combs, denser feathers, heavy breeds) will do just fine in an unheated insulated coop.

You will need to make sure they have liquid water. I like the heated dog dishes.

This list will,rightly so, tell you will also need ventilation without drafts. I know it seems like an oxymoron, and it will likely take you a bit to get that right. I have vents in my coop that are adjustable and I judge my winter humidity by the condensation or frozen condensation on the window in the coop in the winter.

Mine do not have a covered run. Most days even the coldest days they spend some time outside.