Chickens moving eggs

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Dwerker, Nov 9, 2013.

1. Dwerker

Dwerker Out Of The Brooder

Nov 9, 2013
    Plymouth, England
    Hi - I'm pretty new to keeping chickens - we got three at the end of the summer and they're doing well. I always leave the eggs for my daughter to collect when she gets home but I noticed the other day that there were 2 eggs in the coop (where they roost) yet later on there were 2 in the nesting box and one in the coop Why would a chicken move another chicken's egg?!

2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    I don't know why but it's not that unusual. You will definitely see this when there is a broody setting on eggs. Some apparently move their eggs under the broody, or at least think they are doing so. Others appear to steal what they consider the broody's eggs for themselves. At least this is what I've seen with mine, but my experience is fairly limited. I haven't seen them do it except when one of them is broody or about to go broody, thinking they are collecting their clutch -- but that doesn't mean it doesn't happen.

1 person likes this.
  3. SILKIEOBESSESED

SILKIEOBESSESED Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 21, 2013
    fl
    It happens and its normal for broody chickens.

1 person likes this.
  4. MsChickenMomma

MsChickenMomma Overrun With Chickens

Dec 2, 2012
    Michigan
    [​IMG] Glad to have you join us!

5. Dwerker

Dwerker Out Of The Brooder

Nov 9, 2013
    Plymouth, England
    Thanks for replying - I shall probably be picking everyone's brains as I'm new to chickens! x

6. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    Welcome to our forum! And sorry I missed this in my first post....

That's what we're here for!

7. Teri Metcalf

Teri Metcalf Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 22, 2013
    College Station, Texas