Chickens Not Laying

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by kristentree, Nov 11, 2016.

1. kristentree

kristentree New Egg

Aug 19, 2016
    Chugiak, Alaska
    Disclaimer: I am completely new to raising chickens.

I have 6 hens, all different breeds, the youngest being about 24weeks old and the oldest about 28weeks. Two of them started laying about a month or so ago (one of them being one of the oldest and the other in the middle somewhere) but none of the rest are laying yet. Is this normal?
    Also, of the two that have started laying, one of them has stopped and hasn't laid in about 2 weeks now, after being a once-a-day layer for at least a few weeks.
    I'm just wondering if something is wrong, or if this or normal?

TIA!

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    the non-layers will begin when they are good and ready (doesn't make it any less frustrating though [​IMG]). Do you think that you new layers may be laying somewhere other than the coop / nest boxes?

3. kristentree

kristentree New Egg

Aug 19, 2016
    Chugiak, Alaska

Unfortunately I don't think there is anywhere else she could be laying that I haven't looked. I have looked in the area they usually stay in, and haven't found any anywhere other than the one box they both liked to lay in. I have been keeping my eyes open.

4. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Any predators that may be beating you to the eggs? If not, I'm honestly not sure what to think. Others will undoubtedly chime in and hopefully be able to shed some light on the issue.

5. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    :frow