1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Chickens not sleeping in House

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by tomroyall, Jul 28, 2011.

1. tomroyall

tomroyall New Egg

Jul 28, 2011
    I am new to keeing chickens! We bought a run for our chickens when they were chicks and they slept in their house! they out grew it so we bought a bigger House and plan to have them free range and lock them up at night I put a tempary run up just so they got familiar to their new home but they are not sleeping in it for the last 4 nights they have slept out side. I'm concerned please help advise gratefully recieved!

2. rungirl

rungirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 7, 2010
    Columbus, Ohio
    Put a light inside. They'll come in when it gets dark.

3. tomroyall

tomroyall New Egg

Jul 28, 2011
    Thanks any other advise for a newbie!

4. Keltara

Keltara Chillin' With My Peeps

The light should do it. If not, then as it begins to get dark, go out and put them in the coop. After a few nights, they'll get the idea. They don't know where their home is anymore (even if it's right in front of them). They need help finding it.

Good luck!

5. wava1vaughn

wava1vaughn Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 24, 2011
    Cairo Ga.
    Hi from Ga. It won't take long for them to get used to it. [​IMG]

6. bloom_ss

bloom_ss Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2011
    Spokane Valley, WA