Chickens on the Brain

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by BarkingPup, Nov 29, 2007.

1. BarkingPup

BarkingPup Out Of The Brooder

Nov 29, 2007
    Canada
    I hope this post goes here.... However, I'm not sure where else it would go so....

*ahem*

I am new to the chicken population (Only started seriously researching about three years ago) and also new to the board ^^

I am considering chickens, my parents have agreed and my dad has even suggested he help me build a coop! it's only a simple, small backyard kind of idea but it's a start!

But what breed?

My parents have certain requirments for them as do I and so I shall list them in the hopes someone can suggest a breed to me:

1. I would like a tame chicken, one that isn't aggressive or skittish
    2. I don't require meat nor eggs in proliferation (We eat game meat like moose and deer that my dad hunts instead of chicken)
    3. VERY VERY HARDY! I live in Canada, it gets awfully cold. So a chicken that can survive at temperatures of at LEAST minus thirty. The coop will be insulated and, if necessary heated with a portable heater but chickens that don't pass out if a chill wind blows would be nice ^^
    4. IF they could be bantams I'd love to have them. BUT if not, then that's okay [​IMG]

4. My mom wants them quiet. We live in the country so neighbours aren't much of a problem (Especially considering one of our neighbours has over thirty dogs....)

And that's pretty much it. I'm certain my dad expects me to turn a tidy profit from egg layers and such but I'm sure I can convince him it's a far-flung dream. My mom also has a garden so chicken poop WILL BE USED! hehe ^^

Thanks for the help and such ^^

Last edited: Nov 29, 2007
  2. justusnak

justusnak Flock Mistress

[​IMG] Hi Barkingpup, and welcome. This will be the one place you will find yourself more than any other place on the web. LOL Its an addiction. ( but a great one to have)