Chickens sleeping in run

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by saraem, Jun 23, 2016.

1. saraem

saraem Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2016
    I went out this evening to check that the chickens were up on the roost in the coop and not in a pile on the floor (they're 3 months old), and found them on their roost in the run! No idea how long they've been doing this as it's been awhile since I've been out to spy on them at night.

The run is secure (1/2 inch hardware cloth covering every opening and buried into the ground; door locked with a barrel lock and an additional lock through the hole of barrel) so we never close the pop door.

It's been really hot so I'm thinking they're more comfortable outside.

My concern is that some of them were actually on the framing 2x4 and not the roost so they're pressed up against the inside of the hardware cloth. Could a predator get at them like that? I'm new to chickens so I don't know what their behavior would be if terrorized at night; I'm guessing if they had the smarts to move away from the side they'd be fine but I don't know if they would do so in the dark.

2. saraem

Apr 19, 2016
    This is the coop if it helps visualize. The roost in the run wasn't up yet in this pic, but some are sitting right on the 2x4 that cuts it in half vertically.

[​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  3. TerryH

TerryH Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2016
    NW Arkansas
    My Coop
    Need more information. How many chickens do you have? Is there ventilation and/or a window? Your location isn't listed. That would really help when you have questions. The answers will likely be different if you are in south Florida vs the UP of Michigan for example.

4. theoldchick

theoldchick The Chicken Whisperer

May 11, 2010