Chickens sleeping on roof coop

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by 3000rpm, Jul 30, 2011.

1. 3000rpm

3000rpm New Egg

Jul 25, 2011
    i have a problem, im new to my hens got them 2 weeks ago and have 5 in total

i got a coop big enough for 8 hens and i have 5 so plenty space and it has an outdoor small run, i did plan to have them freerange all day in the whole garden but they were making a mess so i built a large run around 15 foot by 10 foot and its concrete slabs on ground with straw over the top to keep it clean, i also have a clear roof so light gets in and its nice and dry

my problem is that the hens do not go inside to roost at all, when it starts to get dark they all fly onto the top of the coop and sit on the roof, i then need to pick them up one at a time and put them inside and i lock them in

i would prefer if they went in by themselves is there anything i can do so they will do this or would it be better to just leave them to figure it out themselves

i am worried to leave them out all night incase they start making a lot of noise as i am in a housing area, during the day they do not make much noise at all though, we do have some foxes go around but im pretty sure they could not get to them with the metal wire and concrete on the ground

any help would be great thank you

2. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens