Chickens sneezing, smelly discharge

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by moso121, Aug 8, 2009.

1. moso121

moso121 Hatching

Aug 8, 2009
    I am new to chickens and I have 2 of them that have been sneezing a lot, sound raspy sometimes when they breathe and have smelly discharge coming out of their noses. What kind of treatment do I need to do? They are around a month and a half old. Is there something I can buy at a farm supply store or do I need to take them to the vet? Thanks for any advice!

Shelly

2. Smelly, bacterial like smell is a bad sign. It COULD be coryza.

Please do a search on this for some answers to your questions.

This has been well discussed on this forum.

Sorry for your troubles

rim

3. max101

max101 Songster

Mar 16, 2009
    newcastle Australia
    My 8 chicks had coryza. You will always remember that smell they have around there face. If they have it the bacteria can never be cured. The birds become carriers and you can never introduce new birds as they may become infected. I gave mine back to the miserable person that sold them to me. Make sure you study up on all the different chicken respiratory problems as there are a few. Hopefully your chickens have something that is easy to treat. If it is coryza my advise is to get rid of them as you may transfer the bacteria to someone elses chicken innocently. Hope all goes well for you

4. threehorses

threehorses Songster

Apr 20, 2009
    Houston
    I agree this sounds like typical Coryza. They do become carriers thereafter so you'll want to keep them seperate or as only-birds as Coryza is quite contagious.