chickens started laying! Egg questions

Chihirolee3

Chirping
Apr 8, 2018
nowhere Iowa
So my Rhode island red pullets have started laying! They were born in February. I have no roosters, but I do have guinea fowl (males and females). My miscovys haven't started laying.

So I have a few egg questions. I am very new to birds and have only had my birds free in their run since we June 1st. I got my ducks and guineas last fall and raised them in our basement. My pullets I got from Tractor Supply (4 hens), and I love them so much. But now that nearly everyone is laying, I know nothing about knowing if eggs are good enough to eat. This is why I got my birds as my husband and I go thru 2 dozen eggs a week when we bought from the store (they are staples for us and I cook/bake with them alot).

So here's what I do know: don't immediately clean them (at least if they aren't filthy), and collect them asap. I get the eggs everytime I check on them as the guineas just lay anywhere and everywhere.
But I haven't eaten one yet....I'm scared to crack one open and have rotten egg smell in my house. I put them in the fridge right away now, and have about a dozen in there from the past week. And my guinea eggs are rock hard. I've stepped on a few without breaking them. I am not sure if that's normal, but my guineas seem to have no vent issues. So, with all that said, any advice is helpful to a noob like me.

Relax and start enjoying your eggs. If you collect them daily you are not going to get a rotten one unless one stays hidden for a while. The reason an egg goes rotten is that bacteria gets inside and multiplies. Hens can normally lay eggs in a hidden nest for a couple of weeks, then sit on them for 3 weeks before they hatch, and still not have an egg go bad.