Chickens were Hurricane Victims too!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by La.Mad-House, Nov 23, 2009.

1. La.Mad-House

La.Mad-House Out Of The Brooder

Nov 21, 2009
    Hello [​IMG],
    I am a newbie to chicken raising! So new I don't even have chickens yet! So here is my story:

After hurricane Katrina, someones flock (of maybe 6-8 birds) ended up seeking refuge in a wooded area on my aunts property. Four and a half years later, there are now about 20-25 birds in that area. I mentioned to my aunt that I wanted to raise chickens for egg laying starting this spring...and she suggested I come to her place and get as many hens as I want. I really want to start out with pullets but since I'm so excited about this new adventure I thought I might try these "wild" birds first.

What shoud my concerns be? Health; as I don't want to contaminate my coop (if that's even possible). Chickens that are very mean won't be much fun. I just thought I might "try before I buy" and see how things go. Any advice?[​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 23, 2009
  2. thechickenchick

thechickenchick Born city, Living country

Mar 8, 2008
    Eaton, Colorado
    First off Welcome!! Free chicken, sounds fantastic. I am afraid they won't be very friendly though. They are wild birds and unless your Aunt has been feeding them and they are use to humans, they probably will be very anti social. That of course depends on the personality of the bird, but it is more likely you will have friendly birds if you raise them that way.

As far as health concerns they may have mites or something like that. You could treat them for this and a few other things. Wait a while before adding any new birds to this flock. Always quarantine new birds for 30 days before adding to your existing flock.

Good luck!! Keep us posted!

3. mandelyn

mandelyn Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 30, 2009
    Goshen, OH