Chickens winter fun inside

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Nevada Sun, Sep 20, 2012.

1. Nevada Sun

Nevada Sun Out Of The Brooder

Sep 10, 2012
    Howden, Manitoba, Canada
    Hi,, this might have already been talked about but What kind of things do you all put on the ground inside the coop to keep them happy..I am new to this,, Fist winter with my wonderful Chickens and I live in Winnipeg, Manitoba, I hear they won't be going out to much as we get it Very Cold here.. I don't want them to get to bored.. in such a small area..

2. jtbrown

jtbrown Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 30, 2011
    Southeastern Ohio
    Quite a few people use baskets with greens in them, or really well chopped hay. Also hanging up little things like CDs that spin and they peck at. Also, just having plenty of room for them to not get on each others' nerves is good too. Good luck, they may surprise you and go out more than you expect!

3. Nevada Sun

Sep 10, 2012
    Howden, Manitoba, Canada
    Thank you for your response.. I saw in a different thread someone said about spreading corn on the ground so they do not get bored.. so I was curious as to what else as that was a great Idea,, can you use frozen corn thawed? I guess they will go outside but not much I am thinking ,, my shop is about 12 X 16 and 18 chickens..

4. ll

ll Chillin' With My Peeps

spread leaves ... bags and bags and bags of fallen leaves / pine needles - pine straw

5. JNB

JNB Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 1, 2011
    Graham, WA.
    Heres a few ideas I use.....

Cabbage tether ball..... they love it and keeps them busy. Just hang the cabbage from a string or small chain.

Scatter scratch or BOSS on the floor coop just a couple handfuls.. They will scratch up the seed and also turn the floor material . If you use the Deep littler method... this is kinda beneficial.