Chickens with additudes!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Fussy8, Aug 4, 2011.

1. Fussy8

Fussy8 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 4, 2011
    Utah
    Hi everyone i am new to Backyard chickens site and to raising chickens!! I have 8 chickens who are spoiled rotten! My oldest hens are 6 months old and haven't started laying eggs!! What am i suppose to do? We are feeding them layer feed and they have lots of sunlight,water, a perch with two levels and two nesting boxes. They are not free range because we have LOTS of cats that run around our neighborhood. We have 2 Americana's, 2 White crested polish, 2 silkies, a silver lace and a Buff orpington I love my girls!![​IMG]
    [​IMG] PLEASE HELP ME!!![​IMG]

2. galanie

galanie Treat Dispenser No More

Aug 20, 2010
    Colmesneil,TX
    Just be patient. My Orps didn't lay till they were almost 7 months old. Some lay sooner. It could also be the heat. Either way, there's not much you can do but wait.

Oh, and [​IMG]

3. Peeper

Peeper Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 3, 2009
    Little Rock, AR
    Just hang in there and you will be suprised at how excited you will be when you finally do find that first egg!

4. HHandbasket

HHandbasket The Chickeneer

My Easter Eggers (aka americanas) did not lay until they were about 30 weeks, so please be patient. I have some purebred ameraucanas that are about 20 weeks right now, and they are obviously not mature enough to lay (they still look like "little girl pullets"). Silkies oftentimes don't start laying until around 8-9 months. Same with Polishes, or so I am told (just got my first Polish chick a month ago). I have a delawegger (Delaware/EE cross) that just started laying Monday.

You will be so excited when those first eggs start coming! They will be really small at first, but don't despair, they DO get bigger!

5. Fussy8

Aug 4, 2011
    Utah