Chickens with bloody watery diarrhea - one already lost

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by williamsl77, Sep 15, 2011.

1. williamsl77

williamsl77 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 15, 2011
    Northeast
    I'm new at this and already feeling very bummed that this is happening... here's the story.

We have 22 bantams that are 4-5 weeks old, 6 aracaunas that are 4-5 weeks old. We had 2 sixteen week old hens, a buff orpington (died last night) and a NH red. I had been housing them in the garage until about two weeks ago (in multiple large rubber maids with tops cut for ventilation and heating lamps). The two 16 week hens were in an extra large dog crate on their own and we have only had them for about two weeks. We built a very large walk in coop 7ft by 7.5ft with lots of ventilation and roosts and nests. We moved the chicks in first for a few days and let them all loose to get to know each other. They did really well. (They had been in containers all near each other their whole lives, so they had all seen each other all of that time). I did notice the aracaunas pecked on a couple of the bantams for a day or so, but they they all got used to each other and it seemed ok.