Chickens won't go in coop at night

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by crankyyanky1, May 23, 2016.

1. crankyyanky1

crankyyanky1 Out Of The Brooder

May 23, 2016
    I need help, I am new to raising chickens. My chickens are about 8 weeks old. We built a coop for them and they were fine with going in it at night in the beginning. I lock them in at night because we have all kinds of animals that could get them at night. In the beginning when they were small I kept them in the chicken coop yard that we built now that they are bigger I let them free range in our yard at night they go back to the coop but they sit on the porch of the coop it has railing that they like to roost on, we repurposed my son's old playhouse into the chicken coop. Since they started free ranging at night I actually have to take them off the porch and put them inside which is a pain I don't understand why they are not going in on their own anymore. I have hay inside nest boxes and lots of perches for them. Any wisdom would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

2. MelissaC18

MelissaC18 New Egg

May 22, 2016
    Indiana