Chickens won't go in coop! Have tried everything....

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by axelkeitz, Feb 14, 2016.

1. axelkeitz

axelkeitz Out Of The Brooder

Feb 14, 2016
    Corvallis, MT
    I am new to raising chickens. Around thanksgiving I bought 9 hens and one rooster. They were a few days old when we picked them up. So I guess that makes them around 10-11 weeks old. So about a month ago I built them a chicken coop with attached run.( I'll post pictures). For the first month and a half of there life they lived in an old water trough and then a horse stahl when they got to big. When I put them in the new coop I expected them to take a while to get used to there new surroundings but not this long!

I have tried turning a light on at dusk, I have put them on the top rung of the ramp to the coop and helped them up, then the next night put them a little lower, then a little lower, etc. until now when I put them on the last rung they take right off up the ramp and go into the coop. But still they don't go up by them selves at night. My last effort was to lock them in there coop for three days, which didn't work either. There last night of lock up was this past Wednesday.

So I bought maybe there ramp was to steep and didn't have enough rungs. So yesterday I rebuilt it a less of an angle and rungs every 5 inches. That didn't seem to help since they didn't go in by them selves last night.... I'm at a loss for what to do next!! My next thought was to put there food and water in the coop??? I don't know!

Are they just to young ? There not laying eggs yet but when they start laying eggs, will they just lay them on the dirt if they won't go in there coop??
    Any help is appreciated!

[​IMG][/IMG]

2. WVForestGirl

WVForestGirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 11, 2015
    West Virginia