Chickens won't sleep in the coop!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Nanny Linn, Feb 22, 2012.

1. Nanny Linn

Nanny Linn Out Of The Brooder

Jul 13, 2011
    Hello fellow chicken lovers,
    My 6 month old chickens have decided that roosting in their pen is preferable to their coop. The weather has been rainy and cold (they're protected from rain), but they won't go in their coop! I have one big Light Brahma that roosts at the top of the ramp. At first I thought she might be keeping the other 4 from entering. I watched for awhile and even when she leaves they still remain on the outside perch. This morning (4:30) I peeked out and saw that they were ALL sleeping in the sand in the pen! They still go in to lay their eggs. Any ideas? I was thinking of just taking that particular perch down, hoping that they'd find the only roost in the coop.

2. gram of five

gram of five Out Of The Brooder

Mar 6, 2011
    I am new to keeping chickens, but here is my take. We have 16 hens and 3 roosters (rir, auracanas, silkies and barred rocks). Most are bred for cold weather. For most of the winter they have all been sleeping out in a sheltered run. The run has a straw "igloo" that protects them from rain and wind, the weather here in NY has been relatively mild this year, but even when it was at zero this year, most slept outside. I worried at first, but then figured, that is their decision to stay outside. Some do go in at night, some stay out. I would feel worse if I were to get them all in each night and close them in. I think they are all pretty hardy and just like the freedom and fresh air. Just me and my opinion. If you do a search here on byc you will find lots of different opinions. Good luck with your chicks.

3. Nanny Linn

Jul 13, 2011
    Thank you. I suppose I just wanted someone to tell me that it's not entirely unusual. You're right, it is certainly their choice.

4. Two Dog Farm

Two Dog Farm New Egg

Mar 7, 2010