Chickens won't sleep in their hen house??

Jennine

Hatching
7 Years
Apr 30, 2012
Utah
Newby here! I am totally new at owning chickens. I have 4, three month old chickens that I have owned since they were 4 weeks old. When I got them I had them in our house to stay warm due to our cold/long winters here in Utah. In early spring I moved them out to their coop with a heat lamp. That is where they stayed for about a month or so, day and night, until the weather warmed up. My chickens are free range now and they WILL NOT return to their coop at night?! Every night I go out, gather them up and place them in their house. Every night!! I have been doing this for two months now and I thought by now they would get the idea. So last week I left them to see if they would figure it out, they always end up on our deck or sleeping in the yard somewhere. Their coop is 4' x 3' and 4' tall. They have 2 roosts, one is 2' off the ground and the other is about 3.6". They also have 3 nesting boxes. I can't figure it out?? They have fresh cedar shavings mixed with DE, so it's not dirty at all. It seems plenty big enough and it's right where they hang out all day, in a cool shaded area of the yard. So what is it?? Also, when I put them in at night instead of roosting on the 2x4 perches provided they sleep in the nesting boxes? What am I doing wrong? I love my girls and will continue to tuck them in each night, but there has to be something I can do to teach them?