Chicks and medicated feed

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by jymdhm, Jun 6, 2011.

1. jymdhm

jymdhm Out Of The Brooder

May 16, 2011
    How long should I keep my chicks on medicated feed and once they are off, what is the next step? I've been told I can take them off anywhere from 6 weeks to 18 weeks and that the next step would be layena crumbles.

2. Kaugomu

Kaugomu Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2011
    San Antonio
    I'm totally new to this, but what I've read is that there are three levels of feed. You have starter feed that can be used anywhere from 4 to 6 weeks, developer feed from there to 18 or 20 weeks, then switch to layer feed. Some starter feeds (like the one I got from our feed store - all they had) are starter-developer combo which can be used from day one up till you switch at 18 or 20 weeks. SO, basically it depends on if your starter is specifically a starter, or a combo as to when you switch them off it. It should say on the bag of feed what the age recommendations are.

3. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    There are a lot of different options out there for what you can feed them. The normal sequence is Starter for the first 4 to 8 weeks, Grower from then until 20 weeks or they start to lay, then Layer. Some brands of feed offer a combined Starter/Grower that is good until you start the Layer. Some offer a Developer that can be used from 13 weeks until they switch to Layer. Then some people feed Flock Raiser until they switch to Layer. There is no one right answer, just a lot of options that all work.