1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Chicks are hatched. what happens now???

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Oz Chook, Nov 19, 2008.

1. Oz Chook

Oz Chook Out Of The Brooder

Nov 11, 2007
    Western Australia
    Out of 6 eggs that I put under my 2 broody hens 4 have hatched so far.

One chick died, it seemed that one of the mums has pecked at the chicks eyes, I tried to save it but it was too far gone [​IMG] also have another has been pecked only a little. I've moved that chick inside with the 'good' mum and left the other 2 outside with the pecker, she seems happy with those 2. I'm not sure why she did it, any suggestions would be gladly appreciated as this is my first time hatching.....

Also, please don't laugh, but I'm not sure what happens now...

The mum's don't leave the chicks at all, not even to poop that I've seen as I had to clean the box. I've ended up putting food and water in the nesting box and they were ravenous!!

How long do they stay so close and what is the next stage I can expect? Thanks in advance, I feel such a dope!!!

2. needmorechickens!

needmorechickens! Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2008
    West TN
    I'm pretty sure the mom will start getting out more on her own, but I've never hatched eggs under a broody so I don't know.
    It sounds like you're doing a great job so far! Is it cold where you are?
    [​IMG]
    ~Rebecca

3. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia