chicks eating a LOT & one being very aggressive

Discussion in 'Quail' started by USAmma, Oct 17, 2013.

1. USAmma

USAmma Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2009
    I am very new to this . . I have 14 coturnix chicks that are 1 week old today. Some are growing way faster than others. The largest are double the size of the smallest and are more advanced with feather growth. But all are spunky and active and seem healthy. I lost two the first day but none after that.

They are eating way more than I expected them to eat! I picked them up 6 days ago and they have eaten about 4 pounds of game bird feed so far!! I ground it up for them to a fine powder. Today they also finished off 2 hard boiled chicken eggs. Will they slow down in the amount of food they eat once they stop growing? How many pounds of feed will I need to buy per week for say, one dozen laying hens? At this rate it's getting to be an expensive hobby. And at what age can I stop grinding it?

Secondly I have one of the largest chicks that is being super aggressive towards the others. It is chasing the others around and pulling feathers off of them. They squeak with pain. I marked it so I could tell which one and I have been watching it all day. It keeps doing it. I put that one in a smaller cage inside the bigger enclosure so it can be near the flock but not reach the other chicks. Do you think this chick can be broken of this habit by keeping it by itself for awhile? Or should I just count on that one being culled?

Thanks for all your advice so far and all the knowledge I have gained by browsing old threads.

2. marksouth

marksouth Out Of The Brooder

Jul 11, 2013
    I have broken aggressive chicks several times by doing that. I call it the time-out box, a small box to itself. I kept them in the box for about an hour and it seems to help.

3. USAmma

Jul 26, 2009
    Thanks for replying! I actually think I fixed it. :) It has greatly reduced its habit of doing this.

4. Julbrod