Chicks first week outside

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by ewood, Jul 4, 2011.

1. ewood

ewood Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2011
    Hi. I'm new to chickens and not sure what to think of this. My chicks have just transitioned to their outdoor coop and run 3 days ago. So far, with few exceptions, they won't go in or out of the coop by themselves. Once they're in, they are happy as can be. Once they're out, just as happy, scratching a pecking. But even when it started raining, they huddled up under the coop until I put them back in. I've tried to show them the ramp, but I think it's all just too new for them right now. Is this a typical senario, or do I need to do something? I know it's not anything to be too concerned about, I just feel bad that they seem so confused. Any ideas?

Thanks.
    Liz

2. bawkbawkbawk

bawkbawkbawk Chillin' With My Peeps

You don't mention how old your chicks are, but, in general, I would say it's a very typical scenario.

My first group took weeks, even a month or so, to figure their way into the coop and pen. It takes them awhile to understand gates and doors, it seems.

They'll get it eventually!

3. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Quote:X2

(I love your handle...Bawkbawkbawk..[​IMG])

4. ewood

ewood Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2011
    Thanks. That's what my instincts were telling me, but I wanted to make sure. The chicks are about 7 weeks.

5. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    My babies are now 4 1/2 months old and have only just learned to go in out of the rain! They would run the perimeter of their garden area, in panic mode when the rain was coming down, screaming, "mommy, what do we do!!" So I had to "pat" on the ramp, calling them in every time. They have finally learned. [​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 4, 2011
  6. alisha