1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Chicks for FUN

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by rehric00, Sep 17, 2013.

1. rehric00

rehric00 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 3, 2013
    So I have this little silkie that has been sitting in a nesting box, on eggs and even when I take the eggs, she stays there. For days! So, for fun, I took two eggs, marked them and stuck them under her today. I am hoping they hatch in a few weeks. And if they hatch, I am hoping they are eggs from my new hampshire reds. But my rooster is a black copper maran. I just segregated him yesterday, but hoping todays eggs are still fertile from yesterday- should they be? Im new to all this. Its all really a chance, but itll be fun to see how it unfolds :) I will keep you all posted with what happens.

What are you experiences with this?

2. chiqita

chiqita Overrun With Chickens

Aug 29, 2011
    San Jose, Ca
    Yes hens store sperm for weeks or months.

3. rehric00

Apr 3, 2013
    wonderful. i got about 11 eggs today and i took the 3 biggest to put under her, hoping they were from my older hens. i say three, because i had a late layer and it was a nice size so i gave it to her. it wont be too disappointing if it doesn't work but thought id give it a try. to me, its worth the three eggs.

4. ChickenLegs13

ChickenLegs13 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 4, 2013
    Lower Alabama
    I think you gonna hatch 5 big black chickens!
    I just ditched a clutch of Day 10 banty eggs because they were infertile and gave the little hen some large brown and white eggs of unknown henage. I didn't need any more bantys anyway but can always use more layer hens. My layer hens are mutts so it's always interesting to see what comes out of the egg.

5. rehric00

Apr 3, 2013