1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

chicks getting bigger dont know what to do?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by kay-chan, Oct 20, 2009.

1. kay-chan

kay-chan Out Of The Brooder

Oct 20, 2009
    Well i'm new at raising hens, since i had roosters only and they where more easier to take care then hens! I live in S.F in the suburbs. Hens are different then rooster because they lay eggs. So since my teenager chicks are getting bigger, they are now living in a giantic plastic tote box. Could that be good enough for their living quarters? Plus how do i set up their nest for them to lay eggs??? What do i need? [​IMG]

2. MissJenny

MissJenny Chillin' With My Peeps

May 11, 2009
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Hi and a great big [​IMG]. A tote is probably is not going to be a sufficient long term living situation, but for right now it seems to be doing the job just fine.

There are a lot of housing options for hens just like there are a lot of housing options for people. The main goal is to keep them comfortable (out of the rain and the snow and to have available roosts which is chicken-speak for bed -- we wouldn't invite a guest to spend the night and have them stay in a guest room with no bed.) And the other housing requirement is to keep your hens safe from predators like dogs and cats and possum and raccoons and coyote and hawks and... it seems everything wants a piece of chicken.