Chicks have JUST arrived, and I have a few questions. Help?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by backyardfarm, Jun 21, 2010.

1. backyardfarm

backyardfarm New Egg

Jun 20, 2010
    A bunch of them are quite floppy and limp, is that okay?
    Then they started to lie down with their head and neck on the ground, are they supposed to do that?

I was wondering if they were just doing these things because they were tiered from their long trip.

2. CoffeeCow

CoffeeCow Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2010
    Washington, NC
    I am no expert, but mine were all up and peeping... they were all ready to eat and drink, and explore.

How long were yours in transit?

Edit:
    and for the laying down, when they sleep, its scary sometimes, I came in and one of them looked like it got hit by a car. it was laying on its side with its foot out to the side. upon closer inspection, she hopped up and peeped at me for waking her up [​IMG]
    they do sleep in funky weird positions.

Last edited: Jun 21, 2010
  3. elmo

elmo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    Sorry, I have no experience with shipped chicks, but that does sound worrisome. Try putting this the emergencies thread to see if you can get a quick response from someone who does have experience. Good luck! I hope your chicks are all right.

4. backyardfarm

backyardfarm New Egg

Jun 20, 2010
    Quote:I think for about 2 days. I wouldn't want to be in box for that long!

5. backyardfarm

backyardfarm New Egg

Jun 20, 2010
    Okay, they are relaxing in some crazy positions! Thanks for your help!

6. CoffeeCow

CoffeeCow Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2010
    Washington, NC
    2 or 3 days is normal, that is actually a pretty short trip for them.
    I agree with the previous poster, try posting this in emergencies and try for a response from a more experienced poster.

Wish I could help you more,

7. zippitydooda

zippitydooda Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 23, 2010
    Ottawa, Ohio