1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Chicks in the car???

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by nychicks, Jun 14, 2007.

1. nychicks

nychicks Out Of The Brooder

Jun 14, 2007
    Hi-
    This is my first time writing in and my first time raising chicks....
    Here is my question...
    I have a family surprise party this weekend that has been planned well in advance of my knowing when the chicks were coming (today). I don't know what to do with them because there is no one available to take care of them this weekend and I was wondering if I could take them in the car on Saturday when they are three days old for an hour?
    This is probably too much for them...has anyone ever taken their chicks on a car ride? I would obviously put them in a box and keep the ac off in the car and try to keep them as warm as possible!
    Thanks for any advice!

2. missusduray

missusduray Chillin' With My Peeps

May 20, 2007
    Northern Minnesota
    How long will you be away from them if you leave them home?
    Kristyne

3. nychicks

Jun 14, 2007
    It depends...if we take them with us we would stay overnight...but if we leave them home it would be at least 6 -8 hours with traveling.

4. missusduray

May 20, 2007
    Northern Minnesota