Chicks in the Winter

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Ittlechickies, Nov 28, 2016.

1. Ittlechickies

Ittlechickies Just Hatched

Nov 28, 2016
    Hi! My Plymouth Rock chicken began sitting in the earlier days of November. Her chicks just hatched and we have five Plymouth Rock-Cochin Bantam chicks. They are currently living in the coop, and I am concerned for them. Winter is approaching which means freezing temperatures. This is my first time raising chicks that were not purchased. Will their mother keep them warm enough, or do I need to figure something else out to keep them warm through the winter?

2. DancingWthDucks

DancingWthDucks Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 21, 2016
    Cumbria, UK
    Their mother should keep all of them nice and warm, although if you feel particularly concerned (say if the temps drop really low) than you could always bring the mama hen and her chicks into a warmer garage to be on the safe side. Also be wary of the waterers freezing- I've heard stories of chicks getting their feet wet, and their feet freezing. Good luck with them!

1 person likes this.
  3. Ittlechickies

Nov 28, 2016
    Thank you! I'll keep that in mind!

4. lutherpug

lutherpug Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 5, 2014
    Kansas City, MO
    Do a search on here for brooding chicks outdoors-there is some really fantastic information from very experienced people. I've been reading a lot about this lately as I have chicks coming tomorrow and I want to get them out of the house and into the main coop as quickly as possible.

My 2 cents is that there is no need to bring them indoors as long as your coop is dry.

Try searching for the members Blooie and Azygous-they've posted a lot on this subject.

Good luck!

5. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator