Chicks Keep Dying! HELP

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Chicknewbie17, Mar 3, 2017.

1. Chicknewbie17

Chicknewbie17 Just Hatched

Mar 3, 2017
    Hello....
    I'm a newbie to raising chicks. I've had chickens before but they came to me already grown. After a predator broke into my Coop & killed my chickens a couple years back I've decided to try my hand at raising chicks.
    I went to Tractor Supply & bought 6 pullet chicks & 6 Rhode Island Red chicks. Right off one of the RIR chicks died within a few hours of being home. I know loosing a few chicks is expected so I didn't worry. Then later that night I lost another RIR chick. It was lethargic & appeared to be gasping for breath. This morning another RIR chick appeared lethargic & would move only when another chick ran into it. This evening it wouldn't move at all & eventually passed. I have them in a plastic tote as a brooder with a red heat lamp...they were in my husband's metal building but the temps go down to 30 this morning, so we moved them inside this evening. When moved them inside I noticed another RIR was acting lethargic....an hr later it was dead. The pullets seem to be acting normal but I'm worried something is wrong with the RIR chicks. I only have 2 left & I don't want to loose them. They are now inside with the brooder light on them...water & medicated food in brooder with them. Any ideas???

2. SunHwaKwon

SunHwaKwon Overrun With Chickens

Jul 19, 2015
    Eastern Shore, MD
    Have you checked their backsides for "pasty butt"?

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio