chicks leaving hen for a couple of hours

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Dwest08, Feb 27, 2015.

1. Dwest08

Dwest08 New Egg

Feb 27, 2015
    Hi to all, and I hope someone can help me. I am fairly new to chickens having just started this post summer with three hens and two roosters. One hen went broody and I let her sit on the eggs as it would be my first hatching and my young hens as well. She had been an excellent mother hatching 4 chicks and taking exceptional care of them. It been amazing watching her and then. Now to my question. The chicks are one week old and my young daughter and her class want me to bring them up to the school and leave in the classroom for about 4 hours. The chicks will be two weeks old on the the day am to take them. Will they be fine without their mother for that long and will she react ok to then when they return? Or should I only take them if I can take momma hen?

2. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us!

3. peepsthebrassy

peepsthebrassy Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 29, 2015
    montana
    If you take the chicks from her the chicks will constantly call for her and so will she call for them(you will distress both of them).If you really want to take them I would suggest to take the mom too. I don't know about the mom taking them back after you bring them home from being away from her.

Last edited: Feb 27, 2015
  4. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    [​IMG] The best scenario would be to take the hen along with the chicks unless she is hyper in temperament. Another possibility is to leave at least one chick home with 'mom' and take the other chicks to school for a shorter period of time so that they do not become chilled and so that the hen does not become distressed.

5. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member