Chicks lost voice and do not eat :(

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Lady_anar, May 9, 2019.

1. Lady_anar

Lady_anar In the Brooder

May 8, 2019
    Dear BYC friends, my hubby and I are new to raising chickens. We have two 10-week old Ameraucanas. Recently they seemed to have lost their voice! It is like they wanted to chirp but can only make raucous sound. They used to be very noise, but now they are quiet. We think it is because they are having a hard time making a sound. They have poor appetite and lost a lot of features everyday. Otherwise, they seem to be OK. Does anyone know what might be going on here? We are really worried!

Attached Files:

2. rascal66

rascal66 Songster

Sep 10, 2015
    Washington
    Is there any way you can post a video or an audio file with how they are sounding?

I'm not very experienced with troubleshooting issues as these along with eating. How is their droppings? Does it appear normal? Or watery, runny? Are they acting active or lethargic?

If everything seems okay, then maybe this is just their way of maturing and growing up perhaps. At around this age, maybe even a bit older (someone feel free to correct me), they start to lose their little chick voices as it evolves into the chicken sounds. As far as their appetite, feel their crops. The crop is typically located on the chest to their right. If they are eating well and are full, it will feel like a grainy ball. Describe how it feels, hard or mushy? Empty even?

Sorry if my advice and questions are poor. But the following questions can help others and myself figure out if your chicks are okay.

Side note, these look more like Easter Eggers? They are very pretty :)

3. Lady_anar

Lady_anar In the Brooder

May 8, 2019

Hi, thanks so much for your reply!! Your response is very helpful!! I posted a video of them here: