Chicks of the future 2! sorry jhonny

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by luvchikies, Jan 7, 2009.

1. luvchikies

luvchikies Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2009
    sorry jhonny for copying a thread almost like yours, but its an excellent idea on how to describe it. Ok I just order some chicks fro Ideal hatchery and they will arrive the 21st. This is my first time with chickens but thats why i made this thread so yall can help on how to take care of my chicks. The only things that I know on how to take care of them is this:

Feed them daily (or until feed runs out)
    change water daily
    and have enough space for them to run
    and have pine shavings for them to snuggle on.

they are 33 chicks coming on the 21st of january im so excited!!!!!!

I THINK IDEAL HATCHERY IS THE BEST FROM WHAT I'VE READ HERE ON THE FORUM!

2. birdlover

birdlover Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2007
    Northern Va.
    No need to flounder in the dark! The Learning Center on BYC has all the information you need to raise healthy, happy chicks. Here's a link to get you started:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/LC-first60days.html

ETA: One thing I would add to the brooder advice is to put paper towels on top of the shavings for 2 or 3 days until the chicks know what and where the food is. I had one die once from injesting some shavings. [​IMG] And never use newspaper at first as this will cause a condition called spraddle leg because they can't get a good grip on newspaper - it's slippery. Good luck with your chicks.

Last edited: Jan 7, 2009
  3. mjdtexan

mjdtexan Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 30, 2008
    Houston(ish)