Chicks on their second week.....

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Chicken7777, Nov 14, 2008.

1. Chicken7777

Chicken7777 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 10, 2008
    North Jersey
    Hi, I got my chicks just last week. They are doing great they are very beautiful chicks, and they are actually now learning how to come when called for food. there is one, with the occasion of others that when I put my hand down in the brooder they come towards me and they let me take them out of the brooder without me reaching for them.....I never knew chicks and chickens in general were so sociable and obedient....Do you think if I would name them they would come to me once they are older? and they might let me pick them up to hold( huggs) once they are older?

Anyway just wanted to ask some questions regarding how this is my first time raising chicks, and wanted to know if there is something I should now at this stage of growth. Something I should provide, change or anything like that.
    Also I have some chicks; maybe two that poo very liquidy, like Diarrhea.
    Some poo are nice and soft not runny but why is it that this happens...do you think it might be becuase I might need to put less water in the starter mash because it has too much water?

Well thanks much![​IMG]

2. Dustoff79

Dustoff79 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 5, 2008
    San Antonio, Texas
    Congrats, I too am moving into week two with my 25. I am noticing that they are now trying out their wings and are getting (jump/fly) on top of the 1 gal plastic waterer. I was wondering what to expect next too.

Here is a challenge to the community, how about someone developing a "what to expect" sticky or time-line that can give new folks an idea of what will happen.