Chicks outside in Southern California - When? Help?

tholihan

Hatching
5 Years
Nov 4, 2014
Yorba Linda
Hello everyone. I am a newbie at this chicken thing and everyone around me thinks that I am crazy. Chickens in the city's? Really? I live in Yorba Linda and I have 6 chicks. I have Ben easing them indoors and they are 6 weeks old now. My wife is complaint about the dust they create. It is really dusty. They are happy and healthy. I have a three sided coop outside for them to go into, but the 4th side is open for ventilation chicken wire to keep them from straying.

My question is with our temps now 50's at night and high 60's during the day. are they old enough to stay outside in the coop? I really like having them and I don't want to lose any. With those temps and their current age - what do think?

Please help. Thanks in advance.

6 weeks a little young. If your coop had four sides, they might be ok. They aren't fully feathered yet and not really prepared to face wind and weather. Usually, by 8 weeks they have full feathering and do just fine in the temperatures you are having. I'd reconsider moving them to a partially open coop.

Hi! I'm in La Habra. I totally understand not wanting them indoors due to the dust. I have horrid allergies and I kept my chicks outside after they were 2-3 weeks old.