Chicks - Pecking - Boredom

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by jjaazzy, Mar 5, 2017.

1. jjaazzy

jjaazzy Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 2, 2013
    Davie, Fl
    I have been raising chicks for a few years now ordering and hatching myself. This last batch was raised up in several tubs then moved up to 1) 6x9 pen and a 1) smaller 6x2.5 pen things were good. I decided the 6 x 2.5 cages population was smaller due to sales I wanted to give them more room to scurry around and put both groups in a new larger 10x10.. this group has lots of perches and room to roam. I sprayed everyone with blu Kote that I thought needed it, before I put them in. If they had anything that remotely looked pink, or had missing chick fluff being replaced by pin feathers but was still skin. I'm blue - their blue, and this morning I find some bloody. At the wing shoulders they just picked and picked till it is red and fleshy. I removed one of the peckers the next cage over with the next group that is 2 weeks older. Removed the picked on bird to a sanctuary and come back to find another birds wing tips and rear end picked on, this was mostly a black bird nothing to indicate might be a target. So I think my big issue is boredom. So how do you entertain 6 week old chicks. What can I put in there that will give these folks something to do besides pick on their room mates. I am going to put some small card board boxes in there for entertainment. I can throw in some mealworms but that's 10 min of fun they are still young yet and don't want to overdo the treats. Should I soak out some alfalfa cubes and give them that. What can I do? I need more zen! TIA

2. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    Do you still have heat on these chicks by some chance? Are they subjected to light 24/7?

What are you feeding them? They should still be on chick starter for the extra protein.

Have you looked them over carefully for lice?