Chicks recovering from Malnutrition (Pics added)

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by la-pro, May 18, 2011.

1. la-pro

la-pro Out Of The Brooder

May 17, 2011
    I'm rather new at this chicken business and made the mistake of making my own feed for them and I ended up having malnourished chicks [​IMG]. I think I've overcome the worst of it, but wondering how to proceed now that they're better. They are both Golden Sex-Link pullets, and they're currently 6 weeks old.

Chick 1 (Pippy) - Was a slow grower from the start, Has wing feathers and some feathers along her sides and on her neck, but still mostly down. She seemed to struggle with eating from the start, would peck at things but didn't seem to get them in her mouth all that often. At week 5 she presented as extremely lethargic and had trouble walking/ lifting her head. Also developed pasty butt. I started giving her scrambled eggs, plain yogurt, and purchased some organic grower feed (mostly mash with some cracked grain/corn). Now at 6 weeks she is full of energy again, but still seems to get cold sometimes, and still is mostly down. I gave her a bath to get the poop out of her down and it's kept clean on her own for a couple of days now.

Chick 2 (Percy) - She's about 75% feathered, still has some down on her back and head. When Pippy presented with lethargy and weakness I checked her out and it seemed that she was skinny, her breast bone was sticking out quite a bit, but not as much as Pippy's.