1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Chicks still jumpy

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Chicken pippy, Feb 21, 2016.

1. Chicken pippy

Chicken pippy New Egg

Feb 21, 2016
    Hello all. I'm new to the whole chicken world. I bought 18 chicks from my local farm supply store. 17 have survived and are growing wonderfully. However, everytime in try to handle them, they freak out and run. I visit them for about 3 times a day at least. Any tips to help them like me?

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome

I've found just sitting out with them really helps. Having a chat with the really helps to get them used to you too. How old are your chicks? A few treats can help you, have them on your hand and let the chicks come to you. Because they are so nosey they generally come and investigate.
    If your chicks are still in the brooder I find that just putting my hands in Palm up attracts them in ~

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

With time and perseverance they should tame up well. Good luck with them and enjoy BYC :frow

3. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    [​IMG] glad you have joined us and congrats on getting your own flock.

Sorry about the loss, and hope the rest continue to do well.

Likely you are reaching down from above to try to touch or pick them up? They have a natural fear of things from above. Mine were like that when in the brooder, but once they were in their coop/run would come to me, especially if I got down to their level with treats in hand.

You should consider posting an intro under New Members forum to get a proper welcoming.

4. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies