Chicks who eat a lot of pine?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Nicole01, May 1, 2011.

1. Nicole01

Nicole01 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 28, 2011
    MN
    Could this be a vitamin deficiency? I really worry about the future of my Speckled Sussex. She ate too many pine chips or a big one and was choking on it. I wonder if I should be switching the probios water to vitamin water. What do you think?

I don't even know where to get chick vitamins if I need them. I know my daughter had an iron deficiency and needed iron. She had pica as a symptom and ate dirt, rocks, sand, chalk, paper, crayons, ect... It was cured when her iron levels were normal.

2. Sorin

Sorin Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 15, 2010
    Glenfield, ny
    I'm no expert on this, but maybe for some reason she likes it [​IMG] I mean, chickens love foam insulation, who knows why? If yo want to try vitamins you can try Polyvisol (childrens vitamins) without iron. You can get it at any pharmacy. You can give 3 drops per day. If your worried about her choking, maybe try covering the pine chips with paper towels for a few days. How old are your chicks?

3. Nicole01

Mar 28, 2011
    MN
    Maple is 4 weeks old and just about fully feathered. She was with the big girls until last night. I put her in with the babies to keep her warm. I don't want to separate her from the big girls too long though. That would hurt her pecking order status.

4. Sorin

Jul 15, 2010
    Glenfield, ny
    By big girls, do you mean fully grown? Or other 4 week olds? At 4 weeks old she should not be with adult birds if that's the case. But, back to your problem, is it possible to get bigger pine shavings? They do come in different grades, something big enough that she couldn't eat. Im thinking this is something that may pass. I'm assuming you have plenty of food available [​IMG] and that eating the pine shavings is a recent problem?