Chicks wont climb up into their nest box??

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by loraleaf, Mar 18, 2013.

1. loraleaf

loraleaf Out Of The Brooder

Feb 28, 2013
    I'm new to chickens...we have 4 barnyard mix and 2 seramas..hatched 2/15. Its been in the 55-70 range here in south east texas so we moved them outside to their coop last night. We put them in through the "back door" straight into the nest boxes. They had been in the coop on the ground before and never noticed the nest boxes. I was a little concerned about them getting chilly so I had my husband put their heat lamp in the coop for good measure. My question is why won't they go up into the nest box and stay there? Not a sinlge one has found the little ladder/ramp thing and gone up it to see whats going on in the nest box....it's the only solid sided part of the coop so the only place to get away from the wind...their next box is built like a "loft".......Is there something I don't know about the incline of the ramp or how to teach them to go up there? I knew chickens werent super bright or anything but they wont even stay up there in the warmth when my husband puts them in the nest box.
    Thoughts?

2. BuffOrpington88

BuffOrpington88 Non-Stop

Mar 20, 2012
    When they get older, they'll probably begin exploring more. Our chickens were hesitant to go up ramps at first also.
    Good luck!

3. SD Bird Lady

SD Bird Lady Chillin' With My Peeps