chirp..chirp...chirp ...chirp...............chirp

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by chickaroo3, Feb 15, 2012.

1. chickaroo3

chickaroo3 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 21, 2012
    Ok I am new to the 3 day old chicks....we just picked up 2 3day old buff orpingtons...they are in thier med tote with the heat lamp..temp is 100 degrees on the hot side. One of them is completely content and drinking and eating...but the other is just chirping away....seems like all it wants is to be held or snuggled by its sister....is this anything to be worred about?

2. crystal195655

crystal195655 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 15, 2011
    Glenoma, WA
    I am relatively new also, but from everything I have read 100 degrees is too hot....mine like it cooler. I started mine out at 90 degrees and they are just over 2 1/2 weeks old and they have had the light raised twice already. I have them brooding in the coop, it got down to 30 degrees last night and they did fine. try lowering the temp a little and see if that makes her a little happeier.

3. MadabtChickens

MadabtChickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 24, 2012
    near Branson, MO
    I agree that 100 degrees is too warm. I've got my 4 two week old Delawares and 2 six day old silkies in the house. The temp is around 90 under the lamp. The Delawares are scattered around in the brooder and the silkies are spread eagle under the lamp. Although....for the past couple hours 1 or both of my silkies has been peeping their heads off. I've gone in and checked on them numerous times and the little buggers have their heads jammed in the feeder pigging out, so I'm not sure what the problem is. Maybe it's time for a lower watt bulb (I can't raise the lamp).

4. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

Last edited: Feb 16, 2012
  5. Tressa27884

Tressa27884 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2011
    East Bay, Ca.