Chirping in shell

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by HamorHollow, May 27, 2010.

1. HamorHollow

HamorHollow Out Of The Brooder

May 7, 2010
    New Hampshire
    I'm a total newbie here, so you can just laugh at me while I completely freak out.

Here's the deal: Caramel (some sort of bantom) had been with a rooster before we got her at a swap. At some point, my nephews realized that she would have fertile eggs and asked if we could try to hatch them. So we have 4 eggs in a home made incubator at their house. I just got a call that an egg is chirping (10 pm hysteric call, really pretty funny). I believe we are on day 24 (for the 1st egg).

So the question is: Do we need to do anything or do we just let the egg be? We've been candling and they were growing, and now one is chirping. How long before it breaks through the shell? Do we help it? I know to leave it in the incubator for 24 hrs, but I didn't see anything about a chirping egg.

We are pretty excited, we never expected to get this far. Help!

Kelly

2. patnjess

patnjess Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2010
    perfectly normal. It might be a few hours beforeit pips, and 24 before it zips and comes out

3. wolftracks

wolftracks Spam Hunter

Nov 6, 2009
    Modesto
    Congrats on your future chickies! [​IMG]

4. HamorHollow

May 7, 2010
    New Hampshire
    Pips (pipping?) is when the beak cracks the shell, right?

Our 'incubator is a complete home-made hack. It's a cardboard box, a cd cover (window), a light bulb, and some cups of water for humidity. It's really funny.

How humid should it be? We can only do so much in our situation, so we are wondering if we should set up a humidifier near the box. Can they be too humid?

Thank you so much for your help! We are really excited and nervous!

Kelly

5. SarahFair

SarahFair Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 23, 2008
    Monroe, Ga
    between 65%-70%.
    Yes if they get too humid it will drown them

6. HamorHollow

May 7, 2010
    New Hampshire