choosing a rooster

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by silverchick, Apr 8, 2012.

1. silverchick

silverchick Out Of The Brooder

Apr 4, 2012
    north of Eden
    Right now we have 12 pullets - a few gold comets & the rest red sex link ...I want to add a few B. Australorps, Barred Rocks, Speckled Sussex & Wyandottes ...I was thinking of an Orp. I want a docile roo but wouldn't mind if he were also a real beauty. Most important is temperament though & a good cross for these as layers ...any thoughts or is Orp the best choice? Hoping for a few replies ...seems like I usually get one response then my post gets buried ...so please, if you have a thought - I'm a newbie & would greatly appreciate a few suggestions & a few various points of view. Thanks so much!

Last edited: Apr 8, 2012
  2. Since you are going to have such a wide variety of hens that makes the decission a bit more interesting (especially if you hatch or that orp hen goes broody) I think you need a "middle of the road rooster" Not too docile or he may not be able to handle the head hen very well and get picked on himself.
    My pers. experience with wyandotte roos is they are too aggressive and with orp roos they are too mild mannered (just thinking out loud). I would probably think about a Welsummer, Sussex, Delaware maybe. Something along those lines. A Welsummer roo is beautiful IMPO and is usually pretty good with the girls but not so aggressive that he will peck you in the rear when you bend over, LOL And likewise with the Sussex (I have had both) The Delaware I had was great with covering the girls and the girls really liked him more than any I have had......but he never sounded the alarm when our local hawks swoop for a close look and that made me nervous about him not wanting to protect his girls. Of course any that you choose can always be different than what the breed standard might indicate. I would stay away from RIR's !!!!

3. gg706

gg706 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 5, 2011