Christmas Eve chicks!! Will the hen be able to keep warm? 5 dead now.

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by dianneS, Dec 24, 2009.

1. dianneS

dianneS Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 16, 2009
    South Central PA
    Well, I had a hen go broody a few weeks ago. I gave her the eggs I wanted her to hatch, some of them refrigerated for a few days. I thought they would all hatch at the same time that way. I've never done this before. I candled her eggs last week and two of them were questionable. I've been concerned that she may not be able to pull this one off at all, with the cold weather we've had recently.

Well, she did it!! I just went out to find five chicks under her and the last one had pipped the shell, I could see a beak so I'm sure it will hatch okay.

I just hope that this weather isn't too cold for them and mom knows to keep them extra warm?? I'm so pleased so far, I hope all goes well. Four of them should be EE's and the other two are 3/4 EE, 1/4 silky mixed bantam. Maybe with that 1/4 banty in them, I could get some EE's that might go broody?? If those two are hens anyway!

Do you think they'll be okay in the cold? Its supposed to be around and above freezing for the next few days. Should I let mom out to free range once she's off the nest, or keep her in the hen house? I gave her a handful of chicken feed in her nest and she gobbled it up. Actually a few babies popped their heads out to check out the food too!!

*Update* The hen got off the nest, only one chick followed her, the other five got cold and died. [​IMG] She was in a second story nest box, with a ramp, but I think the babies were afraid to come down from the nest. That is all I can make of it anyway. No other signs of injury to the chicks.