City Chickens in Liverpool

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by kearns911, Nov 20, 2008.

1. kearns911

kearns911 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 10, 2008
    Liverpool UK
    Hello everyone,

First of all I think I should tell you a little bit about me "Shaun" I am from Liverpool UK, I work in sales and I am married to a wonderful girl called Lynne, we have two children Michael & Hollie 'who talked me into getting some chickens [​IMG]' we have two dogs 'Brad & Buddy' and some fish in a small garden pond.

So here we go this is our first go at keeping chickens 'our friends and family think we are totally mad, as it is not the norm to keep chickens in a city like Liverpool .

We purchased a coop with a built in run from ebay 'got a bargain and it does not look to bad in our back garden' then we went and don it 'we purchased two chickens' and called them Winne & Violet (after the kids great grandmothers).

Well we have had our girls for a few weeks now and guess what 'we have our first egg [​IMG]:' so I guess we must be doing something right, I felt so delighted when my daughter discovered the first egg 'like we had made it [​IMG]' her face was a picture [​IMG].

I think we have been well and truly bitten by the chicken bug.
    [​IMG]

2. kinnip

kinnip Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2008
    Carrollton, GA
    [​IMG]

3. Attack Chicken

Attack Chicken [IMG]emojione/assets/png/2665.png?v=2.2.7[/IMG] Hu

Sep 25, 2008
    Indianapolis, IN
    Welcome [​IMG] I believe anyone that gets chickens gets bit by that bug to [​IMG] At least I did.

4. SterlingAcres

SterlingAcres Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 17, 2008
    Poconos, PA
    [​IMG]

5. Southernbelle

Southernbelle Gone Broody

Mar 17, 2008
    Virginia
    This is the right place for you! [​IMG]

Are your girls friendly? I was so surprised that chickens can make such satisfying pets. I love just watching them scratch around and make their chicken noises. Of course, the eggs are nice, too!