City Dweller- is my Neighborhood too noisey for Chickens?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by tricia1989, Jan 31, 2013.

1. tricia1989

tricia1989 New Egg

Jan 29, 2013
    I live in the middle of Kansas City, and I'm considering starting a little flock of ladies in my back yard. Our next door neighbors have 3 dogs who are very enthusiastic about barking and making a general fuss on their side of the fence, really there's a lot of dog barking in our neighborhood in general, and our yard backs up to a relatively busy street with frequent police-siren activity. We have a full privacy fence so that helps a little. Mostly I think our situation has great chicken paradise potential, I just don't know how noise-sensitive chickens are. I don't want to go to all the trouble only to find out they can't sleep and are nervous wrecks. I'd feel awful.

Obviously, I am still in info-gathering mode, and a total newbie, so I have no idea if this matters but I've been considering Barred Rocks and Rhode Island Reds. Only ladies, as roosters are not allowed in town by ordinance.

Let me know If this question is better suited to a different area of the forum. I am almost as new to forums as chickens.

Thanks!

2. howfunkyisurchicken

howfunkyisurchicken Overrun With Chickens

Apr 11, 2011
    Tn
    They'll probably be fine. My chickens have to listen to my neighbors 4 dogs bark their heads off during the day and at night. I also get the occasional siren from an ambulance or police car, gun shots (alot of gun shots, my neighbors are freaks), kids screaming, my sons remote control cars. They aren't bothered by it. Your birds will adapt, it'll probably wig them out at first, but eventually it'll be as normal to them as it is to you. Good luck and :welcome
    Nikki

3. DerbyGirlGoneChicken

DerbyGirlGoneChicken Out Of The Brooder

Sep 19, 2010
    Kansas City, MO