Cleaning Chicken Coop

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by terrilhb, Dec 26, 2010.

1. terrilhb

terrilhb Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 11, 2010
    Georgia
    Hello. I am new to raising chickens. I have 14 right now. 2 Rhode Island Red Roosters 11 RIR Hens, 1 Bantam Rose Comb Rooster. 2 Goats, 2 dogs and 3 cats. Can anyone tell me how often they clean their chicken coops. I have read 1 or 2 times a year. I do mine weekly. It needs to be scrubbed down but it is to cold now. Would appreciate any help Thanks

2. True Grit

True Grit Chillin' With My Peeps

I just pick up the obvious poop every morning, add shavings occasionally and replace it all every 6-8 weeks. I have not scrubbed it. [​IMG]

3. Yay Chicks!

Yay Chicks! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Forest Grove, OR
    A lot may depend on how large your coop is, how good the ventilation, what you use for bedding etc. I have a very, small raised coop so I clean off the poop board daily and scoop any big, wet clumps off the floor. I add shavings as needed, turning them into the old and sprinkle DE around frequently to help keep things dry. I did a thorough cleaning in early Sept and don't plan on it again until spring. Because I keep a fairly deep level of shavings, the floor stays dry and it doesn't smell.

4. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    I clean mine weekly. I'm going to stretch it out a few more days because it's gonna be too cold.

5. 4-H chicken mom

4-H chicken mom Overrun With Chickens

Aug 3, 2007
    Oberlin, OH
    I clean mine in late fall and then in the spring. I also use deep shavings so I can just turn it over. [​IMG]

6. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    I clean mine when it's time to put the stuff on the garden. But it's large, dirt floor, very airy, and has lots of litter.