Cleaning chickens

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by MrHobblyfarm, Oct 21, 2008.

1. MrHobblyfarm

MrHobblyfarm New Egg

Oct 21, 2008
    I'm brand new to this and I'm Hobbley Farms Hubby. Is there an easier way to clean a chicken. My wife down loaded instructions on how to clean a chicken I believe from this this site. In the instructions it required me to cut a hole just below the diaphram large enough to to insert my hand and pull out the inards. Well, I'm a rather large guy and it was rather difficult inserting my hand in the hole I made and pulling out the inards which I must say were quite slippery and had MUCH difficulty. Remember I'm new at this chicken cleaning thing, only one under my belt. My question; Can't I just take some tin snips/ meat scissors and cut through the center of the breast bone, pull it apart, and pull the inards out that way???? It seems a lot easier and I don't really care what the end product looks like I just want to eat it. Any suggestion or opinions appreciated. thanks

2. Chickenfortress

Chickenfortress Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2008
    I don't have much trouble, but I can see your point. When cleaning doves or quail I use a gut hook. Maybe the difference in hand size would make it necessary for you to use one on your birds. It happens to be the right season to get hold of one. They are available at any place that sells hunting equipment, usually in the form of a folder/pocketknife. You may also be able to get one from a butchers supply such as Hobart.

3. Richard

Richard Out Of The Brooder

May 8, 2008
    Antioch IL
    I am new to this alos and by no means an expert but I have the same problem but was still able to do it but you can split the breast but I would use poultry shears instead and be carefully not to break or cut the intestines open

4. MrHobblyfarm

MrHobblyfarm New Egg

Oct 21, 2008